Overview of Alaska Testing Requirements

How to Qualify for Certification

For initial certification in Alaska, all candidates must:

While holding an initial certificate, all candidates must:

For complete details on certification requirements, including application forms, educator preparation programs and out-of-state application procedures, access the Teacher Certification page of Alaska's Department of Education & Early Development.

Important Information

  • If you test in Alaska, your score report will be sent automatically to the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development. If you test outside of Alaska, select the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development (state code 7027) as a score recipient when you register or on an additional score report request.
  • Beginning with the 2014–15 testing year, ETS will discontinue paper-delivered testing. However, tests will be available in a paper-delivered format as required for ADA accommodations. All scores for previously administered paper-delivered tests are reportable for 10 years from the date the test was taken.
  • ETS is offering several additional tests in a computer-delivered format that will be introduced in October. Visit Test Centers and Dates to find testing centers near you.

    • Economics (5911) — previously available as paper-delivered test code 0911
    • Geography (5921) — previously available as paper-delivered test code 0921
    • Government/Political Science (5931) — previously available as paper-delivered test code 0931
    • Theatre (5641) — previously available as paper-delivered test code 0641
  • Alaska requires a Social Security number (SSN) in order to process teacher certification paperwork. ETS does not require your SSN for its own purposes, but will submit it to Alaska with your test results. Failure to provide your SSN will delay processing of your certification application.

Who Must Take the Tests?

Teacher candidates or those wishing to become certified may be required to take The Praxis Series® tests.

Prior to entering an educator preparation program at your college or university, you may be required to take the Core tests to demonstrate your qualifications.

In Alaska, you may take the Core tests to satisfy the basic competency exam requirement for Initial teacher certification. An approved Praxis II® exam meets the content area exam requirement for Professional Teacher certification.

In Alaska, you may take the appropriate Praxis II as one option toward becoming highly qualified in a specific content area.

In Alaska, you may also add endorsements to your teaching certificate in five areas based on the successful completion of the appropriate Praxis II exams.

See also:



Ready to take a
Praxis® Test?

Register Now >

Praxis® Official Study Guides and Practice Tests

Get yours today.

Praxis Test Centers and Dates

See test centers, dates and deadlines for Praxis tests.