Overview of Connecticut Testing Requirements

How to Qualify for Certification

For initial certification in Connecticut, all candidates must:

Visit the Connecticut State Department of Education website for more information on certification.

Important Information

  • Beginning with the 2013–14 testing year, ETS is administering a new version of the Health Education test. This new test will be offered in a computer-delivered format and the new test code will be 5551. The new test covers the same content as the previous test. However, scores are reported on a different scale, so requirements will vary from previous versions. All scores for discontinued tests are reportable for 10 years from the date the test was taken. Consult the Test Requirements table for specific score requirements.
  • ETS is offering several additional tests in a computer-delivered format which will be introduced throughout the testing year. Visit Test Centers and Dates to find testing centers near you. The computer-delivered versions cover the same content as the paper-delivered versions and are scored on the same scale; however, the computer-delivered tests have different test codes.
    • English to Speakers of Other Languages (5361) — February 2014*
    • Music: Content and Instruction (5114) — February 2014*
    • Technology Education (5051) — July 2014

    * Beginning February 2014, this test will not be available in a paper-delivered format except as required for ADA accommodations.

  • Connecticut requires a Social Security number (SSN) in order to process educator certification paperwork. ETS does not require your SSN for its own purposes, but will submit it to Connecticut with your test results. Failure to provide your SSN may delay processing of your certification application.
  • If you test at a center located in the state of Connecticut, your score(s) will be automatically released to the Connecticut State Department of Education. However, please note that the score may not be accepted unless your correct social security number appears on the score report.

Who Must Take the Tests?

By state law, all individuals seeking formal admission to a teacher education program or certification in Connecticut must take and pass the Praxis I tests in Reading, Writing and Mathematics OR obtain a State Board-approved waiver.

Additionally, you will need to take the Praxis II tests if you are applying for one of the following:

  • your first Connecticut certificate in one of the endorsement areas (see Guide to Assessments for Educator Certification in Connecticut) in which passing The Praxis Series™ test is required
  • renewal of a lapsed Connecticut certificate in one of the areas in which the Praxis II test is required
  • an additional endorsement in one or more of the areas in which the Praxis II test is required

See also:



Connecticut Department of Education logo

Ready to take a
Praxis™ Test?

Register Now >

Praxis Test Centers and Dates

See test centers, dates and deadlines for Praxis computer-delivered and paper-delivered tests.

Praxis eBooks