Overview of Indiana Testing Requirements

How to Qualify for Licensure

For initial certification in Indiana, all candidates must:

  • Earn a baccalaureate degree.
  • Complete an approved program of teacher education.
  • Pass The Praxis Seriestests for their licensure area.
  • Complete coursework in special education for all educator licenses.
  • Earn a valid certification from either the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association in CPR-Heimlich Maneuver training.
  • Submit the appropriate licensing fees.

See Indiana's application quicklinks for standards forms and checklists for licensure.

Important Information

  • Beginning with the 2013–14 testing year, ETS is administering a new version of the Health Education test. This new test will be offered in a computer-delivered format and the new test code will be 5551. The new test covers the same content as the previous test. However, scores are reported on a different scale, so requirements will vary from previous versions. All scores for discontinued tests are reportable for 10 years from the date the test was taken. Consult the Test Requirements table for specific score requirements.
  • ETS is offering two additional tests in a computer-delivered format which will be introduced throughout the testing year. Visit Test Centers and Dates to find testing centers near you. For tests available in both formats (paper and computer), the computer-delivered versions cover the same content as the paper-delivered versions and are scored on the same scale; however, the computer-delivered tests have different test codes.

    • English to Speakers of Other Languages (5361) — February 2014*
    • Technology Education (5051) — July 2014

    * Beginning February 2014, this test will not be available in a paper-delivered format except as required for ADA accommodations.

  • Indiana requires a Social Security number (SSN) in order to process educator certification paperwork. ETS does not require your SSN for its own purposes, but will submit it to Indiana with your test results. Failure to provide your SSN could delay processing of your certification application.

Who Must Take the Tests?

Teacher candidates or those wishing to become certified must take The Praxis Series tests. Prior to entering a teacher education program at your college or university, you may be required to take the Praxis I® Pre-Professional Skills Tests (PPST) to demonstrate your qualifications.

In Indiana, you must take the appropriate Praxis II® tests for each area of certification you seek.

Out-of-State Applicants

Indiana belongs to the Interstate Certification Compact and the Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC). Indiana belongs to the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) for teachers, support professionals and administrations. Indiana also recognizes accreditation by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).

Official transcripts and a verification letter of all instructional and school service experience must be verified by an administrator at the last place of employment.

See also:



Indiana Department of Education

Ready to take a
Praxis™ Test?

Register Now >

Praxis Test Centers and Dates

See test centers, dates and deadlines for Praxis computer-delivered and paper-delivered tests.

Praxis eBooks