Overview of North Dakota Testing Requirements

How to Qualify for Licensure

For initial licensure in North Dakota, all candidates must:

  • Successfully complete a state agency approved bachelor's level teacher education program, which includes a professional education sequence and general studies. North Dakota requires 26 semester hours or 40 quarter hours of professional education coursework for secondary licensure and 34 semester hours or 50 quarter hours for elementary education licensure.
  • Maintain at least a 2.5 overall grade point average.
  • Successfully complete at least 10 weeks of full time, supervised student teaching in the certifiable area at the appropriate grade level(s).
  • Clear fingerprinting screening for criminal convictions.
  • Receive recommendation for licensure by recent supervisors.
  • Pay all applicable licensing fees.
  • Pass The Praxis Series tests for their certification area.

For comprehensive information on licensing requirements and testing, please visit the Licensure page of the North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board.

Important Information

  • If you test in North Dakota, your score report will be sent automatically to the North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board. If you test outside of North Dakota, select the North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board (state code 7848) as a score recipient when you register or on an additional score report request.

  • ETS is offering several additional tests in a computer-delivered format that will be introduced throughout the testing year. Visit Test Centers and Dates to find testing centers near you. The computer-delivered versions cover the same content as the paper-delivered versions and are scored on the same scale; however, the computer-delivered tests have different test codes.

    • Audiology (5342) — December 2013
    • Special Education: Preschool/Early Childhood (5691) — July 2014
    • Special Education: Education of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students (5272) — April 2014
    • Special Education: Teaching Students with Learning Disabilities (5383) — April 2014
    • Technology Education (5051) — July 2014
  • North Dakota requires a Social Security number (SSN) in order to process educator certification paperwork. ETS does not require your SSN for its own purposes, but will submit it to North Dakota with your test results. Failure to provide your SSN could delay processing of your certification application.

Who Must Take the Tests?

Teacher candidates or those wishing to become certified must take The Praxis Series™ tests.

Prior to entering a teacher education program at your college or university, you may be required to take the Praxis I® tests to demonstrate your qualifications.

In North Dakota, you must take the appropriate Praxis II® tests for each area of certification you seek.

Out-of-state Applicants/Reciprocal Licensure

North Dakota has conditional reciprocity with other states. To receive interim reciprocal licensure, an applicant must first hold a valid, current regular educator certificate or license from another state, province or similar jurisdiction.

For more information on applying for educator licensure in North Dakota, visit the licensure page of the North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board. If you have a certificate or a license from another state, application directions for out-of-state candidates are provided.

See also:



Education Standards and Practices Board

Ready to take a
Praxis™ Test?

Register Now >

Praxis Test Centers and Dates

See test centers, dates and deadlines for Praxis computer-delivered and paper-delivered tests.

Praxis eBooks