angle-up angle-right angle-down angle-left close user menu open menu closed search globe bars phone store

Overview of North Dakota Testing Requirements

How to Qualify for Licensure

For initial licensure in North Dakota, all candidates must:

  • Successfully complete a state agency approved bachelor's level educator preparation program, which includes a professional education sequence and general studies. North Dakota requires 26 semester hours or 40 quarter hours of professional education coursework for secondary licensure and 34 semester hours or 50 quarter hours for elementary education licensure.
  • Maintain at least a 2.5 overall grade point average.
  • Successfully complete at least 10 weeks of full time, supervised student teaching in the certifiable area at the appropriate grade level(s).
  • Clear fingerprinting screening for criminal convictions.
  • Receive recommendation for licensure by recent supervisors.
  • Pay all applicable licensing fees.
  • Pass Praxis® tests for their certification area.

For comprehensive information on licensing requirements and testing, please visit the Licensure page of the North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board.

Important Information

  • If you test in North Dakota, your score report will be sent automatically to the North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board. If you test outside of North Dakota, select the North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board (state code 7848) as a score recipient when you register or on an additional score report request.

  • ETS discontinued paper-delivered testing; however, Praxis tests will continue to be available in a paper-delivered format as required for ADA accommodations. All scores for previously administered paper-delivered tests are reportable for 10 years from the date the test was taken.

  • North Dakota requires a Social Security number (SSN) in order to process educator certification paperwork. ETS does not require your SSN for its own purposes, but will submit it to North Dakota with your test results. Failure to provide your SSN could delay processing of your certification application.

Who Must Take the Tests?

Teacher candidates or those wishing to become certified must take the Praxis tests.

Prior to entering an educator preparation program at your college or university, you may be required to take the Praxis® Core Academic Skills for Educators (Core) tests to demonstrate your qualifications.

In North Dakota, you must take the appropriate Praxis® Subject Assessments for each area of certification you seek.

Out-of-state Applicants/Reciprocal Licensure

North Dakota has conditional reciprocity with other states. To receive interim reciprocal licensure, an applicant must first hold a valid, current regular educator certificate or license from another state, province or similar jurisdiction.

For more information on applying for educator licensure in North Dakota, visit the licensure page of the North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board. If you have a certificate or a license from another state, application directions for out-of-state candidates are provided.

See also:


Education Standards and Practices Board

Promotional Links

Ready to take a Praxis® Test?

Praxis Test Centers and Dates

See test centers, dates and deadlines for Praxis tests.

Explore Praxis Test Preparation

Prepare for your test with interactive practice tests and study companions.