Overview of South Dakota Testing Requirements

South Dakota

How to Qualify for Certification

For initial certification in South Dakota, all candidates must:

  • Earn a baccalaureate degree.
  • Complete an approved educator preparation program.
  • Pass the Praxis® tests for their certification area. The department may issue a one-year certificate allowing an applicant to complete the required Praxis test.

Important Information

  • If you test in South Dakota, your score report will be sent automatically to the South Dakota Department of Education. If you test outside of South Dakota, select the South Dakota Department of Education (state code 8112) as a score recipient when you register or on an additional score report request.
  • ETS discontinued paper-delivered testing; however, Praxis tests will continue to be available in a paper-delivered format as required for ADA accommodations. All scores for previously administered paper-delivered tests are reportable for 10 years from the date the test was taken.

Who Must Take the Tests?

  • Each individual who applies for an initial certificate after July 1, 2005, must take and meet or exceed the qualifying scores of both the appropriate content-specific Praxis® Subject Assessments and the Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) test that most accurately matches their level of preparation.
  • Applicants prepared by South Dakota institutions must pay careful attention to identifying and recording the correct code number of the preparing institution (the college or university that will recommend them for certification) on their registration form. The information must be written in the "Attending Institution section." (See the Attending Institution/Recipient Codes List).
  • After July 1, 2005, each individual who holds a valid South Dakota certificate and wishes to add another area to that certificate must take and pass the appropriate subject assessment test(s).
  • Each individual who holds a valid teaching certificate from out of state must submit proof of having met or exceeded the qualifying score for the appropriate Praxis content area test(s). If the appropriate score(s) are not met, the individual will have to take and pass the appropriate Praxis content test(s) to attain five-year certification. The department may issue a one-year certificate allowing an applicant to complete the required Praxis test.
  • It is the responsibility of the applicant to register for the proper subject assessment test. See Test Requirements for the list of certification areas and corresponding subject assessment tests.

Note: Not all certification areas have content-specific tests; to obtain certification and/or endorsement in areas without content-specific tests, the appropriate coursework must be completed.

See also:


Promotional Links

Ready to take a Praxis® Test?

Praxis Test Preparation

Prepare for your test with interactive practice tests. Get yours today.

Praxis Test Centers and Dates

See test centers, dates and deadlines for Praxis tests.