Mapping the TOEIC® and TOEIC Bridge™ Tests on the Common European Framework Reference (CEFR)

ETS recently conducted a standard-setting study to map TOEIC® and TOEIC Bridge™ scores on the Common European Framework Reference. The CEFR, a valuable reference that is used worldwide, describes language proficiency in reading, writing, speaking, and listening on a six-level scale: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 and C2. View the executive summary.

Background on the Common European Framework (CEFR)

The Common European Framework Reference is widely used by learners, teachers, curriculum designers and testing organizations to coordinate efforts in promoting language competence. It consists of six levels, clustered in three bands:

  • A1 — A2 (Basic User)
  • B1 — B2 (Independent User)
  • C1 — C2 (Proficient User)

These levels guide language educators and instructors in identifying existing levels of language competency of nonnative language users, and are used to develop curriculum and courses to advance communicative competence.

Further Information

For more information about this standard-setting study, please email:

Promotional Links