跳至主要内容跳至页脚

 

GRE® 测试

完成您对申请人优势的看法

选择任何步骤,详细了解 GRE® 检测如何帮助您的机构。

 

ETS 如何保护 GRE 测试的完整性

预防。检测。沟通。

ETS已经开发并继续完善其三管齐下的预防,检测沟通方法,在其70年的历史中,作为世界上最大的非营利性教育测量和研究机构。ETS开创的许多测试安全实践已成为行业标准,并已被世界各地的其他公司和组织采用。

ETS 测试完整性办公室持续监控测试、调查安全问题、进行突击审计,并努力确保全球范围内的分数有效性。ETS每年在家庭测试,测试中心运营,测试参与者识别和监控,互联网安全,监考员和主管培训,最终得分报告和测试后分析的安全方面花费超过5000万美元。
 

以下是通过评分报告流程保护 GRE Test 免受测试设计欺诈活动的一些方法。
 

使用最高标准创建和交付测试内容

GRE 一般测试的内容、问题类型、设计和交付均以预防欺诈为宗旨。ETS每年都会提出大量新的测试问题,以降低记忆和作弊的风险,并利用复杂的专有内容轮换和交付设计来降低可预测性可能影响分数的可能性。此外,ETS 测试诚信办公室团队成员每天在线搜索非法共享 ETS 拥有的专有测试内容。
 

使用人类监控和人工智能技术进行家庭测试

对于国内的 GRE 一般测试,ETS 正在采用多种一流的安全措施,这些措施依靠实时人类监控和人工智能 (AI) 技术来查看和响应难以检测的事件:

  • 现场监考员将确保持续保持警惕,包括确认考生的身份,并在测试开始前扫描他们的家庭环境,标记任何可疑活动,并在必要时进行干预。
  • 人工智能技术——如面部识别、凝视跟踪和整个会话的视频记录——将防范恶意活动。AI 将标记为可能的作弊事件的考生活动示例包括尝试冒充另一名考生、打开新浏览器、运行未经许可的软件以及使用未经许可的对象,例如在测试管理和中断期间使用手机。

测试开始前,拍摄 ID 文件和考生信息照片。监考员验证身份证明文件是最新、有效和可接受的,然后使用面部识别将身份证件与坐在电脑上的人进行比较。然后,在整个测试过程中,使用人工智能随机验证考生多次与鉴定文件匹配。
 

建立安全测试中心

测试管理在 Prometric®测试管理机构以及经 ETS 认证的测试管理机构进行。每个测试中心都经过严格的筛选流程,以确定设施是否符合安全和技术要求,并获得可验证的参考资料。

ETS使用与主要金融机构用于安全传输的相同的互联网安全协议。这些包括用于基本通信和检测软件的最先进的加密,如果传输被更改或中断,会提醒我们。

在每次测试管理开始时,测试软件会自动关闭所有非 GRE 窗口或应用程序,锁定桌面,以便测试人员无法切换到任何其他任务,并记录在测试期间尝试打开的任何应用程序的发生率。

互联网交付确保测试内容只能在实际测试管理期间访问。

ETS使用突击访问,并发送秘密购物者到测试站点,以观察并确保在世界各地的测试环境中应用和维护最高标准。
 

确保对测试中心管理员进行培训

测试中心工作人员经过 ETS 的全面培训,需要通过认证考试,以证明他们了解测试交付政策、实践和程序,然后才能担任测试中心管理员。培训包括以下与安全相关的主题:

  • 识别要求
  • 考试当天的签到程序
  • 用于测试的测试数据和计算机的安全性
  • 测试中心布局

制定和执行考生规则和要求

ETS 采用一些最广泛和经过验证的措施来确保测试日的安全性:

  • 使用受过培训的家庭监考员和测试管理员,以及用于测试监控的 AI 技术和电子监控
  • 添加新技术,如漫游、手机扰乱和其他技术(指定位置)
  • 在测试中心收集手写样本、签名样本和照片
  • 遵守严格的 ID 要求,适合每个国家/地区
  • 检查完测试环节后,考生:
    • 禁止将可用作测试辅助工具的物品带入测试区域,或收集、共享或协作测试内容。
    • 不得接触个人物品,如书籍、电子设备、手提包和背包。
    • 测试开始后,必须在测试中心的指定计算机工作站的桌子上展示他们的照片,并在休息后再次展示。这样,测试中心主管可以根据需要将其与计算机屏幕上显示的考生图片进行比较。

维持评分和评分报告的质量

GRE 评分员通过在线网络收到全球考生的 GRE 分析Writing回复,以供评估。他们通常是经过培训和认证成为GRE评分员的大专和大学教师。

许多策略用于确保所有 GRE 评分人使用相同的评分标准,包括:

  • GRE 评分员必须通过校准测试,证明每次课程开始时的准确评分,才能对操作论文进行评分。
  • 在操作评分期间,通过将先前评分的文章散布到一组未评分的文章中来测试评分者的准确性。以前评分的文章没有被确定为这样。
  • 评分领导者通过审查他们在操作论文、有效性论文和校准测试结果上的分数,以及通过监控分数分布,来监控 GRE 评分员在整个评分环节中的表现。即使经过再培训,仍无法准确评分的 GRE 评分员也被解雇。

请参阅 GRE® 评分使用指南 (PDF),详细了解 ETS 如何对 GRE 一般测试进行评分。

ETS 确保分数完整性的另一种方法是通过为纸质分数报告实施的安全措施。官方成绩报告打印在紫色纸上,直接从ETS发送给考生指定的机构或组织。

ETS 为官方 GRE 评分报告使用安全文件,包括以下功能:

  • 纸张背面的链节水印,以 45 度角保持时可见。这是验证官方分数报告真实性的最简单、最明显的方法。
  • 纸张表面有完全化学敏感的空隙。“VOID”一词在整个文档的整个面上以一定角度不断重复。“VOID”在被漂白剂、伪装剂或油墨橡皮擦活化时以多种语言产生。
  • 此外,GRE 评分报告在右上角包含“ETS®Security Guard”字样,并印有特殊的热敏墨水以确保安全。要激活此安全功能,收件人可以通过摩擦或吹拂来对文本施加热量,ETS® 安全防护文本将消失。如果已复印分数报告,此功能将不起作用。
  • 纸张表面的激光锁。这使得很难从激光或离子打印的文档中移除墨粉。
  • 将线条放在纸的背面。这些铺设的线条采用特别配制的灰色墨水制成,间隔均匀,切割和粘贴困难。

即使采取了最严格的安全预防措施,也可能发生欺诈活动。为确保 GRE 分数的完整性,ETS 测试诚信办公室会认真彻底地调查所有报告的欺诈事件。

当ETS有理由怀疑分数无效时,ETS会进行安全审查,可能包括摄影审查,手写分析和分数分析。

ETS 密切监控所有测试管理并跟踪所有安全事件。

  • 对于家中的 GRE Test,ProctorU ® 使用实时远程监考器和人工智能技术对测试进行监控,ProctorU® 是在线测试的领先监考解决方案。
  • 对于测试中心,如果确定测试中心不符合 ETS 标准且未能纠正问题,则关闭。ETS 还对测试中心进行随机突击检查,以及对通过主管报告、提示或考生投诉提出疑虑的中心进行实地考察。ETS与国家执法机构合作,起诉专业假冒戒指。

统计分析方法用于帮助确保有效的分数。ETS 统计分析团队按测试中心、国家和地区监控得分趋势,并将任何可疑异常情况报告给 ETS 测试完整性办公室进行审查。该团队执行的一些活动包括:

  • 使用软件检测重复测试者评分的显著变化
  • 每次给药后审查系统生成的违规报告
  • 维护工厂历史绩效数据,以确定需要解决的任何缺陷
  • 持续审核站点

ETS 论文相似性检测软件审查了 GRE 分析Writing部分的论文回复,以检测可能全部或部分从其他地方借用或由其他人准备的论文回复。

ETS与我们服务于世界各地的机构和机构密切合作。当分数被取消时,我们会通知机构,并对机构报告的有关测试结果的每一个问题进行调查。

在这个学术和招生作弊的动机和能力正在上升的世界里,ETS继续调整最佳实践并创造新技术,以防止和检测测试安全漏洞。

ETS 致力于为您提供值得信赖的结果。

如果您需要验证您收到的分数是否与 ETS 数据库中的分数相匹配,请参阅ETS® 数据管理器。对于请求访问 ETS Data Manager 的新用户,处理您的请求需要 7-10 个工作日。

如果您对收到的单个测试分数存在安全问题,请填写分数查询表 (PDF) 并将其提交给 ETS 测试完整性办公室,邮箱为communicatetestsecurity@ets.org

填写此表格将提供有用的信息,以协助我们的评分审查流程,并帮助我们及时响应您的请求。

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink SoftwarePowered By OneLink

skip to main content skip to footer

 

The GRE® Tests

Completing your view of applicant strengths

Select any step to learn more about how the GRE® tests can help your institution.
 

How ETS Protects the Integrity of the GRE Tests

Prevention. Detection. Communication.

ETS has developed and continues to refine its three-pronged approach of prevention, detection and communication over its 70-year history as the world's largest nonprofit educational measurement and research organization. Many of the test security practices pioneered by ETS have become the industry standard and have been adopted by other companies and organizations around the world.

The ETS Office of Testing Integrity constantly monitors testing, investigates security issues, conducts unannounced audits and works to ensure score validity worldwide. ETS spends over $50 million annually on security for at home testing, test center operations, test-taker identification and monitoring, internet security, proctor and supervisor training, final score reporting, and post-testing analytics.
 

Here are some of the many ways the GRE General Test is protected from fraudulent activity from test design through the score reporting process.
 

Using the highest standards to create and deliver test content

The content, question types, design and delivery of the GRE General Test are all developed with fraud prevention in mind. ETS creates a significant number of new test questions each year to reduce the risk of memorization and cheating, and utilizes a sophisticated proprietary content rotation and delivery design to reduce the possibility that predictability could influence a score. In addition, ETS Office of Testing Integrity team members search online daily for the illegal sharing of ETS-owned proprietary test content.
 

Using human monitoring and AI technology for at home testing

For the GRE General Test at home, ETS is employing multiple best-in-class security measures that rely on both real-time human monitoring and artificial intelligence (AI) technology to see and respond to hard-to-detect incidents:

  • Live proctors will ensure constant vigilance, including confirming the test taker's identity and scanning their home environment before testing begins, flagging any suspicious activity, and intervening if necessary.
  • AI technology — such as facial recognition, gaze tracking and video recording of the entire session — will guard against malicious activity. Examples of test-taker activities that AI will flag as possible cheating incidents include attempts to impersonate another test taker, opening a new browser, running unpermitted software and using unpermitted objects, such as a cell phone during the test administration and breaks.

Before the test begins, photos are taken of the information within the ID document and of the test taker. The proctor verifies the identification document is current, valid and acceptable, and then uses facial recognition to compare the ID document with the person sitting at the computer. Artificial intelligence is then used to randomly verify the test taker matches the identification document multiple times throughout the test.
 

Establishing secure test centers

Test administrations occur at Prometric® test administration sites as well as test administration sites certified by ETS. Each test center undergoes a rigorous screening process to determine if the facilities meet security and technical requirements and to obtain verifiable references.

ETS uses the same internet security protocols as those used by major financial institutions for their secure transmissions. These include state-of-the-art encryption for essential communications and detection software that alerts us if a transmission is altered or disrupted.

At the beginning of each test administration, the test software automatically closes all non-GRE windows or applications, locks the desktop so the test taker cannot switch to any other task, and logs incidences of any applications that try to open during the test.

Internet delivery ensures that test content can only be accessed during the actual test administration.

ETS uses unannounced visits and sends secret shoppers to test sites to observe and ensure that the highest standards are being applied and maintained in testing environments around the world.
 

Ensuring the training of test center administrators

Test center staff are thoroughly trained by ETS and are required to pass a certification exam to demonstrate their knowledge of test delivery policy, practices and procedures before they can serve as a Test Center Administrator. Training includes the following security-related topics:

  • identification requirements
  • check-in procedures on the day of the test
  • security of test data and computers used for testing
  • test center layout

Instituting and enforcing test-taker rules and requirements

ETS utilizes some of the most extensive and proven measures to ensure security on test day:

  • Using trained at home proctors and test administrators as well as AI technology and electronic surveillance for test monitoring
  • Adding new technologies such as wanding, mobile phone scrambling and other techniques (select locations)
  • Collecting handwriting samples, signature samples and photographs at test centers
  • Adhering to strict ID requirements, appropriate for each country
  • After checking into the test session, test takers:
    • Are prohibited from bringing items into the testing area that could be used as a testing aid or to collect, share or collaborate on test content.
    • Have no access to personal items such as books, electronic devices, handbags and backpacks.
    • Must display their photograph on the table in the assigned computer station at a test center once the test has started and again upon return from break. This allows the Test Center Supervisor to compare it to the test taker's picture that is presented on the computer screen, as necessary.

Maintaining the quality of scoring and score reporting

GRE raters receive GRE Analytical Writing responses from test takers worldwide via an online network for evaluation. They are typically college and university faculty who have undergone training and certification to become GRE raters.

Many strategies are used to ensure that all GRE raters use the same scoring standard, including:

  • GRE raters must pass a calibration test demonstrating accurate scoring at the beginning of each session to score operational essays.
  • Rater accuracy is tested during operational scoring by interspersing previously scored essays into the set of unscored essays. Previously scored essays are not identified as such.
  • Scoring leaders monitor GRE raters' performance throughout the scoring session by reviewing their scores on operational essays, validity essays and calibration test results, and by monitoring score distributions. GRE raters who cannot score accurately on a consistent basis, even after retraining, are dismissed.

See the Guide to the Use of GRE® Scores (PDF) to read more about how ETS scores the GRE General Test.

Another way ETS ensures the integrity of scores is through the security measures implemented for the paper score reports. Official score reports are printed on purple paper and sent directly from ETS to the institutions or organizations designated by the test taker.

ETS uses a secure paper for official GRE score reports that includes the following features:

  • chain-link watermark on the back of the paper, which is visible when held at a 45-degree angle. This is the easiest, most obvious method of verifying the authenticity of an official score report.
  • Full Chemical Sensitive VOID on the face of the paper. The word "VOID" is continuously repeated on an angle throughout the entire face of the document. "VOID" is produced in multiple languages when activated by a bleach, hyporide or ink eradicator.
  • In addition, GRE score reports include the words "ETS® Security Guard" in the upper right-hand corner, printed with a special heat-sensitive ink for security. To activate this security feature, recipients can apply heat to the text, either by rubbing it or blowing on it, and the ETS® Security Guard text will disappear. This feature will not work if the score report has been photocopied.
  • Laser Lock on the face of the paper. This makes it difficult to remove toner from laser- or ion-printed documents.
  • Laid lines on the back of the paper. Evenly spaced lines in a specially formulated grey ink, these laid lines make alteration by cutting and pasting difficult.

Even with the most stringent security prevention measures in place, fraudulent activity can occur. To ensure the integrity of GRE test scores, the ETS Office of Testing Integrity takes seriously and thoroughly investigates all reported incidents of fraud.

When ETS has reason to suspect that scores are not valid, ETS conducts a security review, which may include photographic review, handwriting analysis and score analysis.

ETS closely monitors all test administrations and tracks all security incidents.

  • For the GRE General Test at home, monitoring of the test is conducted using live remote proctors and artificial intelligence technology by ProctorU®, the leading proctoring solution for online testing.
  • For test centers, if it is determined that the test center does not meet ETS standards and it fails to correct the issue, it is closed. ETS also conducts random unannounced inspections of test centers as well as site visits to centers where concerns have been raised through supervisor reports, tips or test-taker complaints. ETS works with national law enforcement agencies to prosecute professional impersonation rings.

Statistical analysis methods are used to help assure valid scores. The ETS Statistical Analysis team monitors score trends by test center, country and region, and reports any suspicious anomalies to the ETS Office of Testing Integrity for review. Some of the activities this team performs include:

  • using software to detect significant changes in scores for repeat test takers
  • reviewing system-generated irregularity reports after each administration
  • maintaining site historical performance data to identify any deficiencies that need to be addressed
  • auditing sites continually

Essay responses on the GRE Analytical Writing section are reviewed by ETS essay-similarity-detection software to detect essay responses that may have been borrowed in whole or in part from elsewhere or prepared by another person.

ETS works very closely with the institutions and agencies we serve around the world. We inform institutions when scores have been canceled, and every concern an institution reports regarding test results is investigated.

In a world where the motivation and capability to commit academic and admissions cheating is on the rise, ETS continues to adapt best practices and create new technologies to prevent and detect breaches of test security.

ETS is committed to giving you results you can trust.

If you need to verify that the scores you received match the scores in the ETS database, please refer to the ETS® Data Manager . For new users requesting access to the ETS Data Manager, it will take 7–10 business days to process your request.

If you have security concerns about an individual test score that you have received, please complete the Score Inquiry Form (PDF) and submit it to the ETS Office of Testing Integrity at communicatetestsecurity@ets.org.

Completing this form will provide helpful information to assist in our score review process and help us to respond to your request in a timely manner.