Idaho State Department of Education

Overview of Idaho Testing Requirements

How to Qualify for Certification

For initial certification in Idaho, all candidates must:

  • Earn an appropriate bachelor's degree or advanced degree.
  • Complete the minimum requirements in a state-approved educator preparation program or an Idaho state-approved alternative educator certification program.
  • Complete a criminal history check pursuant to Idaho Code §33-130.
  • Pass The Praxis Seriestests for their certification areas, hold National Board for Professional Standards Teaching Certification or verify Highly Qualified status, as defined by the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act, in their certification area by other approved means (e.g., test, degree, High, Objective, Uniform State Standard of Evaluation (HOUSSE), etc.). National Board certification or a degree cannot be used to demonstrate highly qualified status in the area of elementary education.

For more information, visit the Idaho State Department of Education online.

Important Information

  • If you test in Idaho, your score report will be sent automatically to the Idaho State Department of Education. If you test outside of Idaho, select the Idaho State Department of Education (state code 8636) as a score recipient when you register or on an additional score report request.
  • Idaho requires a Social Security number (SSN) in order to process educator certification paperwork. ETS does not require your SSN for its own purposes, but will submit it to Idaho with your test results. Failure to provide your SSN could delay processing of your certification application.
  • Beginning with the 2013–14 testing year, ETS is administering a new version of the Health Education test. The new test will be offered in a computer-delivered format and the new test code will be 5551.The new test covers the same content as the previous test. However, scores are reported on a different scale, so requirements will vary from previous versions. All scores for discontinued tests are reportable for 10 years from the date the test was taken. Consult the Test Requirements table for specific score requirements.
  • ETS is offering several additional tests in a computer-delivered format which will be introduced throughout the testing year. Visit Test Centers and Dates to find testing centers near you. The computer-delivered versions cover the same content as the paper-delivered versions and are scored on the same scale; however, the computer-delivered tests have different test codes.

    • Audiology (5342) — December 2013
    • English to Speakers of Other Languages (5361) — February 2014*
    • Special Education: Preschool/Early Childhood (5691) — July 2014
    • Special Education: Education of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students (5272) — April 2014
    • Special Education: Teaching Students with Visual Impairments (5282) — April 2014
    • Speech Communication: Content Knowledge (5221) — December 2013
    • Technology Education (5051) — July 2014

    * Beginning February 2014, this test will not be available in a paper-delivered format except as required for ADA accommodations.

Who Must Take the Tests?

Teacher candidates or those wishing to become certified must take The Praxis Series tests or verify Highly Qualified status by another approved means.

Prior to entering a teacher education program at your college or university, you may be required to take the Praxis I® tests to demonstrate your qualifications.

In Idaho, you must also take the appropriate Praxis II® tests for each area of certification you seek.

See also:



Ready to take a
Praxis™ Test?

Register Now >

Praxis Test Centers and Dates

See test centers, dates and deadlines for Praxis computer-delivered and paper-delivered tests.

Praxis eBooks