Overview of Maine Testing Requirements

How to Qualify for Certification

For initial certification in Maine, all candidates must:

Important Information

  • Maine requires a Social Security Number (SSN) in order to process educator certification paperwork. ETS does not require your SSN for its own purposes, but will submit it to Maine with your test results. Failure to provide your SSN may delay processing of your certification application.
  • Beginning with the 2014–15 testing year, ETS will discontinue paper-delivered testing. However, tests will be available in a paper-delivered format as required for ADA accommodations. All scores for previously administered paper-delivered tests are reportable for 10 years from the date the test was taken.
  • ETS is offering two additional tests in a computer-delivered format that will be introduced in October. Visit Test Centers and Dates to find testing centers near you.

    • Latin (5601) — previously available as paper-delivered test code 0601
    • Theatre (5641) — previously available as paper-delivered test code 0641

Who Must Take the Tests?

Teacher candidates or those wishing to become certified must take The Praxis Series tests.

Prior to entering an educator education program at your college or university, you may be required to take the Praxis® Core Academic Skills for Educators (Core) tests to demonstrate your qualifications.

In Maine, you must also take the appropriate Praxis II® tests for each area of certification you seek.

See also:




Ready to take a
Praxis® Test?

Register Now >

Praxis® Official Study Guides and Practice Tests

Get yours today.

Praxis Test Centers and Dates

See test centers, dates and deadlines for Praxis tests.