Overview of Mississippi Testing Requirements

How to Qualify for Licensure

For initial certification in Mississippi, all candidates must:

Visit the Educator Licensure home page of the Mississippi Department of Education for comprehensive licensure guidelines.

Important Information

  • Beginning with the 2013–14 testing year, ETS is administering a new version of the Health Education test. The test will be offered in a computer-delivered format and the new test code will be 5551. The new test covers the same content as the previous test. However, scores are reported on a different scale, so requirements will vary from previous versions. All scores for discontinued tests are reportable for 10 years from the date the test was taken. Consult the Test Requirements table for specific score requirements.
  • ETS is offering several additional tests in a computer-delivered format that will be introduced throughout the testing year. Visit Test Centers and Dates to find testing centers near you. For tests available in both formats (paper and computer), the computer-delivered versions cover the same content as the paper-delivered versions and are scored on the same scale; however, the computer-delivered tests have different test codes.

    • Audiology (5342) — December 2013
    • Special Education: Education of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students (5272) — April 2014
    • Special Education: Teaching Students with Visual Impairments (5282) — April 2014
    • Speech Communication: Content Knowledge (5221) — December 2013
    • Technology Education (5051) — July 2014
  • If you test in Mississippi, your score report will be sent automatically to the Mississippi Department of Education. If you test outside of Mississippi, select the Mississippi Department of Education (state code 7599) as a score recipient when you register or on an additional score report request.
  • Mississippi requires a Social Security number (SSN) in order to process educator certification paperwork. ETS does not require your SSN for its own purposes, but will submit it to Mississippi with your test results. Failure to provide your SSN could delay processing of your certification application.

Who Must Take the Tests?

Teacher candidates or those wishing to become certified must take The Praxis Series tests.

Prior to entering a teacher education program at your college or university, you may be required to take the Praxis I® Pre-Professional Skills (PPST®) tests or the Praxis™ Core Academic Skills for Educators (Core) tests to demonstrate your qualifications. Alternate route teacher candidates are required to take the Praxis I or Core tests for educator licensure.

Teacher education program graduates for all content areas must pass the Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) test that most closely matches the grade levels of the license sought. The PLT test is not required for alternate route candidates.

In Mississippi, both traditional and alternate route candidates must take the appropriate Praxis II® tests for each area of certification sought.

See also:



Mississippi Department of Education

Ready to take a
Praxis™ Test?

Register Now >

Praxis Test Centers and Dates

See test centers, dates and deadlines for Praxis computer-delivered and paper-delivered tests.

Praxis eBooks