Nebraska Department of Education

Overview of Nebraska Testing Requirements

How to Qualify for Certification

Nebraska has three statutory requirements that apply to all educator certificates (except substitute) and all administrative certificates. These are in addition to all other requirements that are specific to certain types of Nebraska certification and that may depend on the particular endorsement being sought. You must keep in mind that other requirements, which apply more specifically to your application, will also have to be met.

The three statutory requirements are:

  1. Basic Skills Competency
  2. Special Education Competencies
  3. Human Relations Training (Note: Human Relations Training is required for all certified staff, including substitute teachers.)

Additional information regarding these three requirements can be found in the Nebraska Teacher Certification Manual.

Beginning September 1, 2015, a Praxis II® content testing requirement will be implemented for those seeking a first-time Nebraska certificate. See the Test Requirements page for additional information.

Important Information

Nebraska law requires a Social Security number (SSN) in order to apply for an educator or administrative certificate. ETS does not require your SSN for its own purposes, but will submit it to the Nebraska Department of Education with your test results if and when supplied. Failure to provide your SSN will delay processing of your certification application in Nebraska.

If you test in Nebraska, your score report will be sent automatically to the Nebraska Department of Education. If you test outside of Nebraska, select the Nebraska Department of Education (state code 7643) as a score recipient when you register or on an additional score report request.

Who Must Take the Tests?

Praxis I® Pre-Professional Skills Test (PPST®)

The Nebraska Department of Education requires the Praxis I® PPST in Reading, Writing and Mathematics for formal admission into educator preparation programs. Competency is demonstrated by the person's ability to achieve a qualifying score on the assessment.

NCLB Qualified Teachers

In Nebraska, you must take the appropriate Praxis II test for the No Child Left Behind (NLCB) qualified teacher designation at the elementary and elementary special education level of instruction. See the NCLB Qualified Teacher page for additional information.

Praxis II Content Testing

A Praxis II content testing requirement will be implemented for those seeking a first-time Nebraska certificate, effective September 1, 2015. See the Test Requirements page for additional information.

See also:



Ready to take a
Praxis™ Test?

Register Now >

Praxis Test Centers and Dates

See test centers, dates and deadlines for Praxis computer-delivered and paper-delivered tests.

Praxis eBooks