Overview of New Jersey Testing Requirements

How to Qualify for Certification

For certification in New Jersey, all candidates must:

  • Earn a baccalaureate degree or an advanced degree from a regionally accredited college or university.
  • Complete an approved program of teacher education OR a district training program for licensure.
  • Maintain cumulative GPA requirements in the baccalaureate or state-approved post-baccalaureate certification program.
  • Pass The Praxis Seriestests for their certification area.
  • Submit the appropriate forms and fees required for licensure.
  • Pass an examination in physiology and hygiene, administered at the county offices of education. In lieu of this examination, the applicant may present basic military training or college level study in areas such as biology, health or nutrition.

Applicants are strongly advised to consult the New Jersey Licensing Code for specific eligibility requirements for obtaining provisional and standard instructional certificates.

Important Information

  • If you test in New Jersey, your score report will be sent automatically to the New Jersey Department of Education. If you test outside of New Jersey, select the New Jersey Department of Education (state code 7666) as a score recipient when you register or on an additional score report request.
  • ETS is offering two additional tests in a computer-delivered format that will be introduced throughout the testing year. Visit Test Centers and Dates to find testing centers near you. For tests available in both formats (paper and computer), the computer-delivered versions cover the same content as the paper-delivered versions and are scored on the same scale; however, the computer-delivered tests have different test codes.

    • Speech Communication: Content Knowledge (5221) — December 2013
    • Technology Education (5051) — July 2014
  • New Jersey requires a Social Security number (SSN) in order to process educator certification paperwork. ETS does not require your SSN for its own purposes, but will submit it to New Jersey with your test results. Failure to provide your SSN could delay processing of your certification application.
  • Applicants for New Jersey licensing for subject teaching fields must pass the appropriate Praxis II® Subject Assessment(s). The tests are required for all applicants, including those who are licensed in other states. Certain teaching fields are exempt, as noted in the listing below.
  • Applicants for licensing for the Speech-Language Specialist endorsement must pass the Speech-Language Pathology specialty area test.
  • Applicants for licensing for the Principal and/or School Administrator endorsements must pass the appropriate School Leadership Series test.
  • The following teaching fields are currently exempt from passing a Praxis II Subject Assessment test: Agriculture; Bilingual/Bicultural Education; English as a Second Language; World Languages, Other; Health Education; Military Science; Psychology; and Special Education. Please contact the New Jersey Department of Education's Office of Licensing and Credentials for current requirements.

Who Must Take the Tests?

Teacher candidates or those wishing to become certified must take The Praxis Series tests.

Prior to entering a teacher education program at your college or university, you may also be required to take the Praxis I® tests to demonstrate your qualifications.

In New Jersey, you must take the appropriate Praxis II tests for each area of certification you seek.

See also:



Ready to take a
Praxis™ Test?

Register Now >

Praxis Test Centers and Dates

See test centers, dates and deadlines for Praxis computer-delivered and paper-delivered tests.

Praxis eBooks