U.S. Virgin Islands

The U.S. Virgin Islands (USVI) is an unincorporated territory of the United States. It is a collection of four main islands — St. Croix, St. Thomas, St. John and Water Island — and approximately 70 smaller islands, islets and cays. As of the census of 2010, there were 106,405 people, 40,648 households and 26,636 families residing in the territory. The racial makeup of the territory as of 2010 was: Black or Afro-Caribbean, 79.7 percent; White, 7.1 percent; Asian, 0.5 percent; and Mixed or Other, 12.7 percent. Hispanics of any race represent 22.3 percent of the total population. The Hispanic population is predominantly of Puerto Rican descent, while Dominicans make up most of the remainder.


The Region 3 Comprehensive Center (R3CC) at ETS is assisting the Virgin Islands Department of Education (VIDE) in building state capacity for curriculum and instruction and their Consolidated Grant Application.

Learn more about the initiatives for the U.S. Virgin Islands