U.S. Virgin Islands

The U.S. Virgin Islands (USVI) is an unincorporated territory of the United States. It is a collection of four main islands — St. Croix, St. Thomas, St. John and Water Island — and approximately 70 smaller islands, islets and cays. According to the 2020 Census, the USVI’s population was 87,146, representing a decrease of 18.1% from the 2010 Census population of 106,405. The housing unit count was 57,257 in 2020, representing an increase of 2.4% from the 2010 Census housing unit count of 55,901. The racial makeup of the territory is mostly Black or Afro-Caribbean, followed by Hispanics. The Hispanic population is predominantly of Puerto Rican descent, while Dominicans make up most of the remainder.


The Region 3 Comprehensive Center (R3CC) at ETS is assisting the Virgin Islands Department of Education (VIDE) in building state capacity for curriculum and instruction, early learning and their Consolidated Grant Application.

Learn more about the initiatives for the U.S. Virgin Islands