skip to main content skip to footer

Mapping TOEIC Test Scores to the STANAG 6001 Language Proficiency Levels TOEIC

Tannenbaum, Richard J.; Baron, Patricia A.
Publication Year:
Report Number:
ETS Research Memorandum
Document Type:
Page Count:
Subject/Key Words:
Standardization Agreement (STANAG), Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC), Proficiency Levels, Standard Setting, Cut Scores


The Standardization Agreement (STANAG 6001) describes language proficiency levels associated with listening, peaking, reading, and writing. Six levels define each skill area: 0 (no proficiency), 1 (survival), 2 (functional), 3 (professional), 4 (expert), and 5 (highly-articulate native). The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) developed these levels to define the general English proficiency (non-military specific) of military personnel. This study linked TOEIC® scores to the STANAG levels based on expert judgments. A panel of 15 experts in English language instruction and assessment from seven NATO countries participated. An alignment process was first conducted to determine which STANAG levels were sufficiently addressed by the TOEIC assessment to merit recommending corresponding cut scores. Standard setting methodologies were implemented to construct the cut scores.

Read More