skip to main content skip to footer

Mapping the Test de français international onto the Common European Framework of Reference CEFR TFI

Baron, Patricia A.; Tannenbaum, Richard J.
Publication Year:
Report Number:
ETS Research Memorandum
Document Type:
Page Count:
Subject/Key Words:
Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR), Test de Francais International (TFI), Standard Setting, Cut Scores


The Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR) describes six levels of language proficiency organized into three bands: A1 and A2 (basic user), B1 and B2 (independent user), C1 and C2 (proficient user). “The [CEFR] provides a common basis for the elaboration of language syllabuses, curriculum guidelines, examinations, textbooks, etc. across Europe. It describes what language learners have to learn in order to use a language for communication and what knowledge and skills they have to develop so as to be able to act effectively” (CEFR, Council of Europe, 2001, p. 1). This study linked scores on the Test de français international™ (TFI™) to four levels of the CEFR: A2, B1, B2, and C1. The TFI measures reading and listening skills in French, and consists of multiple-choice questions. A combination of a modified Angoff standard setting approach, and a holistic judgment was followed to identify the TFI scores linked to the CEFR levels. Sixteen language experts from seven countries served on the standard setting panel.

Read More